Final speakers announced for GeoCom19

Sir Andrew Dilnot from the Geospatial Commission has been confirmed in the final line-up of speakers for GeoCom19. 

He will be joined by Dr Rebecca Heaton, UK Committee on Climate Change and Martha McPherson, Innovation and Public Purpose, UCL for a session looking at drivers for change in hitting net zero.

Organised by the Association for Geographic Information (AGI), GeoCom19 is inspired by the UK’s commitment to hitting net-zero carbon emissions by 2050 and includes speakers from government, industry and business, as well as panel discussions and networking.

AGI Chair, Matthew Leaver who will be closing the conference, said: “With a packed agenda focusing on geospatial’s role to play in achieving net zero and a host of expert speakers, GeoCom19 is the place to be on 24 October! Our agenda is packed with presentations focusing on how geospatial can be applied to global challenges, including our much-anticipated keynote from Dr Christopher Tucker, author and Chair of the American Geographical Society. I hope that everyone with an interest in the geospatial sector will come along and share their views on the next 30 years of geospatial technology development in the UK.”

In addition to the opening session and keynote, the full speaker line-up for the one-day conference is:

Rangan Sukumar, CRAY Inc; Tom Knights, Strava Metro; and Brittany Harris, Qualis Flow who will all speak on innovative solutions.

Laura Sandys, Energy Data Task Force and Paul Campion, TRL will present on collaborative opportunities, and Dr Anne Kemp OBE, Atkins will lead a panel discussion on creating a sustainable future together.

Dr Christopher Tucker, author and Chair of the American Geographical Society will give the keynote.

Tickets are available at